Testimonials

Below are a selection of testimonials that we have received from clients. We hope that you enjoy reading them. If you are a client of ours and you would like to share your experience with others, then please do feel free to submit your own testimonial by using our feedback form.

Please also visit our page on Trip Advisor to see the reviews that have been left there.

An excellent combined day of abseiling, gorge scrambling and canyoning. Superbly hosted with just the right level of instruction, with the instructor recognising the appropriate level of ability of the group and the individuals within it.

Multi-activity day (abseiling & canyoning)Shane Atherton28th August 2014

We all had a fantastic day! First time on the activities for most of us, but Si was very patient & encouraging. Highly recommend Lakeland Ascents! Amazing memories made. Thank you. :-D

Multi-activity day (abseiling & gorge scrambling)Susan Pascoe13th August 2014

We had an excellent activity day with Joe (our instructor) despite rainy weather. Both activities were great fun, but the ghyll scrambling took the adrenaline-rush award, especially climbing the torrential waterfall at the end! All four of us had a brilliant time.

Multi-activity day (mountain scrambling & gorge scrambling)Jackie Rymell2nd August 2014

Fantastic experience with great guides, especially Simon who was very friendly and knowledgeable.

National Three Peak ChallengeLily Nguyen2nd August 2014

Such a fantastic experience. Guides were really motivating and knowledgable, keeping us all going through the occasional bad weather and sore muscles! Thanks very much.

National Three Peak ChallengeJemima Lloyd2nd August 2014

We chose Lakeland Ascents to guide us through our challenge because out of all the companies we looked at they were the only one who took the time to come back to us with a personalised and thought through response tailored to our requirements.

Si Withington ensured that we had a clear and detailed brief from the start so when we turned up we all knew what to expect! All logisitics were very smoothly handled and the two days we spent with his team went without a hitch.

The guides on the hills were all excellent, from Rich in Scotland, to Si himself in Cumbria, and Neil down in Wales. They all kept us well informed, made sure we happy at all times and if there were any niggles or issues helped us sort those out.

A superb experience with an excellent company. I would not hesitate to recommend Lakeland Ascents for this type of experience and I am sure their quality is equally as high with the other activities they offer. Once the legs have recovered we will be considering our next challenge and Lakeland Ascents will be our first port of call to help, advise, and ultimately see us through whatever that may be!

Thanks from the team at House of Bath and JD Williams!

National Three Peak ChallengeJames Lowe (House of Bath)2nd August 2014

We joined Lakeland Ascents to go abseiling in Hodge Close. Si was very accomplished and reassuring with the whole experience. We were guided down the wall easily. A descent of over 120ft. It was a great day for us all.

Secondly we went Ghyll scrambling / canyoning. This was even better. Again Si made the experience fun and enjoyable. We played games and did little challenges as we progressed up the river. We entered the gorge from the top and started the descent via jumps and slides it was a total buzz. Highly recommend Lakeland Ascents for a good exciting day out.

Multi-activity day (abseiling & canyoning)Gareth Moore23rd July 2014

What a brilliant couple of days! All the activities were fun and Si, you were great with all of us (not an easy task given the age range and how vocal we all were). I thought the order we did all the activities was really good and would certainly recommend this to others.

Rock climbing, although scary for me, was a gentle break in and the afternoon gorge scrambling was loads of fun. The second day upped it a notch with the abseiling and then more gorge scrambling and canyoning. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and are proudly telling our friends of our adventures.

You were a great instructor, patient, clear and friendly. Thank you.

Multi-activity days (rock climbing, abseiling, gorge scrambling & canyoning)Rosie Latter14th July 2014

We originally booked for the navigation course, which was excellent. I have tried to teach the basics to my boyfriend but found it very frustrating as he can be a difficult customer, but Si was patient with him and took him through all the skills necessary to navigate the hills safely and I learnt a few useful tips in the process.

We then booked a morning abseiling as we liked Si’s manner and temperament and trusted him to take my boyfriend through the process as he had never done it before. We will definitely book some guided walks with Si next time we are in the Lake District.

2-day navigation course & abseiling sessionSarah Scott8th July 2014

A very good day, Si was an excellent guide and tutor. Even at my age [60s] Si showed various methods that were new to me about navigation. Before the day I was very reliant on a GPS now it maps first and gps as backup.

Thank you very much for a really good day.

1-day navigation courseDavid Elsender10th June 2014

Our Gorge Scramble was fantastic and especially all the sliding, jumping and even diving our way down the gorge. We were expecting to be going up but going down was even more exciting. Si looked after us very well and it was a particular pleasant surprise that Si took some memorable photo’s of us and emailed them to us for FREE.

Mountain Scrambling – Our boys loved it and went up the scrambles like mountain goats. Si and Francis looked after us very well and encourage the less confident “mad” members of our family to be able to achieve getting to the top even though it looked almost impossible when we were at the bottom of the rock face.

Many thanks for 2 very memorable afternoons in the Lake District.

Multi-activity day (gorge scramble and mountain scramble)Rob Hunter27th May 2014

This was an excellent course, with high-quality, professional training. This was one of the best and most professionally-run courses I have ever participated in. I learnt a great deal, all of which was reinforced throughout the weekend. In addition to this, Si is a genuine, helpful guy. Thanks.

ML(S) RefresherSean Lawrence24th May 2014

Fantastic service, from inital contact to leaving the last mountain. Lakeland Ascents run a friendly, confident operation. Providing all the information and support needed. I can’t fault Lakeland Ascents and will definately be in touch for other activities.

On the mountains both Si and Neil kept a watchful eye on the group and kept us moving, also really supported me when I was the last one walking!

24 Peak ChallengeJo Symanowski (Midcounties Co-operative)17th May 2014

Thank you very much Si for making our day fantastic. I really appreciated that you were willing and able to cater for our last minute change of mind of what we wanted to do and still make it a really enjoyable day. Also your encouragement during the climbing and abseiling was really appreciated. Paul and the kids really enjoyed it so thank you very much – it was a very successful birthday present. They thought it was ‘awesome’.

I was not actually looking for an activity day when I started out on google. I searched for rock climbing in the lakes and your website came up on the first page. The reason I booked was for 2 reasons – you were able to provide the bespoke activity day from a really great choice of activities with the one qualified instructor for just us four and then your communications were immediate and very reassuringly professional and detailed. Whatever you are doing to get to be on the first page keep doing it as it convinced me to buy something that I hadn’t set out looking for because you made it sound really good value for money as well. And it was much more than just that. I wish you every success as it was a truly great experience for all of us.

Multi-activity day (rock climbing & abseiling)Narelle Freeman11th May 2014

I joined the course with limited navigation skills and was truly amazed at how much I learned in such a short space of time. I have gained a huge appreciation for the fine detail provided in the 1:25,000 scale OS map and how to interpret the contours for navigation in areas with few landmarks or limited visibility in addition to a huge number of navigation strategies.

Si had an impressive wealth of knowledge concerning all aspects of navigation and was a patient and competent instructor and proved exactly how much I had learned by asking me to successfully locate contour features without a compass. I am really pleased with how much I have learnt in a fun and stress-free environment. Top marks!!

2-day Navigation CourseJohn Bond6th April 2014

We had a full day of activities in a group of 8 adults. Our instructor was Mark. To keep this short and to the point we had a brilliant time – there were 2 of our group that had never been before and Mark made sure that we all had a great time.

I thoroughly recommend Lakeland Ascents and not just for the great price. We shall definitely we using them again.

Multi-activity daySajid Hussain8th March 2014

Excellent day with Si, full confidence in instructor and equipment, flexible and wasn’t rushed, good experience and we really enjoyed the activity. Si explained everything, good local knowledge of area: on the chance it may have snowed we also had agreed a back up plan to meet in a different location. This was also reassuring and contributed to our planning the day successfully. We will be booking again.

AbseilingGraham Houldsworth21st November 2013

Simon took us to Church Beck for a session gorge scrambling, which left us both with big smiles, and emptied the mind of stress and an impending return to school for Finlay the following day!

We will certainly be returning to the region again, and Simon’s professionalism, enthusiasm and likable character has made sure we will be choosing Lakeland Ascents for our next big adventure!

Gorge scrambling in Church BeckAndy Smith3rd September 2013

We liked your special attention to our requirements. Taking on a blind person gorge walking presented unique challenges and the extra gear you brought and attention you gave to Steph made the whole expedition a great experience for all of us. Steph said gorging was a wonderful tactile event, being able to experience the forces of nature close up was something special she will never forget.

At a recent job interview for the post of Support Worker in the community I told them I had done an extreme sport with a blind person and I got the job!

Gorge scrambling in Church BeckAndrew Maufe27th August 2013

Lakeland Ascents arranged an ML refresher day for me incorporating the key areas I was interested in – refresher on rope work and micro navigation including night nav/poor conditions. As the weather was so good, a late start of 3pm was organised which meant we could work through into darkness. Lakeland Ascents’ instructor was excellent and supported me with the various areas I wanted a refresher on. I went on to pass my ML assessment the following week!

Mountain Leader (Summer) RefresherAlison Sefton13th August 2013

I just wanted to say many thanks once again for the scouts activity day on the 28th July. The day afterwards, Andy told the boys that after the holidays we would be doing a short presentation for parents and that they would have to say a few things about what they had enjoyed on the camp. They all said “abseiling, rock climbing, abseiling and err rock climbing”! The day was very enjoyable, professionally run and hassle free for the scout leaders….perfect after no sleep the night before!

Multi-activity day for 5th Worsley ScoutsEmma Retson, 5th Worsley Scouts28th July 2013

I was delighted that Lakeland Ascents were able to provide qualified and experienced mountain guides for my DeafBlind client and her friend.  I was anticipating that achieving my goal of enabling them to do a proper mountain walk in the Lake District would be an onerous and possible fruitless task, but Si immediately recommended Dave Emery, who, along with Ruth were the perfect guides for Clive and Larraine. Thank you all for making a molehill out of a mountain!

Guided Walk (Wansfell Pike)Caroline Perkins, Communicator Guide24th July 2013

Many thanks for supplying Dave and Ruth as our hiking guides. They were a very competent and professional duo. As Larraine and I are both registered blind, it would have been an impossibility to navigate our way up and down Wansfell Pike without them both. Besides them both being very charming, they made Larraine and I feel safe every step of the way. I will certainly be recommending your company and your professional team to all my visually impaired friends. Thanks again for a job well done.

Guided Walk (Wansfell Pike)Clive Tyrrell, VI walker24th July 2013

It was the highlight of our holiday! Clive and I thoroughly enjoyed the climb and it was very emotional for us both to experience the sense freedom and space that being in the mountains brings and to really connect with the wonder of the surrounding beauty. It was a great opportunity for us to do this hiking with our guides for the day Dave and Ruth. Many thanks to Lakeland Ascents.

Guided Walk (Wansfell Pike)Larraine Reed, VI walker24th July 2013

When I moved to the Lake District I couldn’t wait to get out on the hills and go hiking but I was also aware that I needed to enhance my navigational skills.  I randomly met Si while he was teaching a mountain leader course in Coniston and at the time I was looking for a professional guide to teach me these much needed skills and found that the 2 Day Navigation course was the one for me!

The 2 days were hot and sunny but with a little imagination of a dull and murky day, I learned how to pin point exactly where I was at all times on the map which I thought was amazing! I never knew how to do that but I do now, thanks Si I’m really glad I now have the skills to prevent me from getting lost!

2-day Navigation CourseMichelle Shorthouse9th July 2013

This testimonial came to us in the form of a Blog post! Check out this great write up of a multi-activity day out with us by following this link.

Multi-activity day rock climbing & abseilingTanya Oliver12th June 2013

Had a great 4 days out in some of the more remote parts of the lakes. Learned some good stuff and enjoyed good company. Highly recommended.

Si makes it easy to learn and is a nice bloke to boot. Important when you are spending 4 days in just his company!

Advanced Mountain Skills CourseScott Robertson3rd June 2013

We had an excellent and memorable day with you and the Lakeland Ascents team….even if the weather was appalling!! Importantly, as a new team from Boston Scientific, we wanted to have a great team experience – what was great was that despite the quite deplorable May weather (gotta love the Lakes, right!) you had an excellent plan “b”, that was fun, memorable and safe!

Corporate guided walkTim Coutts (Vice President, Boston Scientific)9th May 2013

Guided walks